Channel Q - It's A Rainbow Of Content!

Channel Q - It's A Rainbow Of Content!

No better way to kick off Pride Month than with this set of amazing people! Ever wanted a radio station that is all LGBTQ+ all the time? Well, you are in luck! On top of the music being fabulous, Channel Q offers interesting programs that talk about socially aware issues, politics, racy content, and also love and romance. To learn more, please read our exclusive interview with the Programming Director of Channel Q, Brian Holt, below, and make sure you check out their line up at the bottom of the article. Happy listening!

Mikalah Gordon, Photo: Courtesy of Channel Q

Jejune loves Channel Q. How did you get started?
CHANNEL Q came out of an Entercom Radio innovation team meeting during the Spring of 2018. We asked ourselves what was missing from the current radio landscape, and discovered a need for an audio platform for the LGBTQ+ community and our allies — a media destination that included opportunities for meaningful dialogue and discussion of the news of the day and events impacting both the LGBTQ+ and progressive communities.

Where are you based? What are the best ways to tune in?
Our main studios are based in Los Angeles. We also have studios in other markets like NYC, DC, SF, Chicago, Miami and Palm Springs. Though CHANNEL Q broadcasts coast-to-coast, the fastest and easiest way to connect and take us anywhere is to download the radio.com app then just search for CHANNEL Q. You can also find how to listen on the radio in all of our markets at our website: www.wearechannelq.com.

So, do you only play music from LGBTQ+ artists?
We  play a wide variety of pop, dance and EDM artists. Our playlist includes LGBTQ artists such as Sam Smith, Troye Sivan, Greyson Chance, Janelle Monae, King Princess, Adam Lambert and Erasure. We also play artists that support our community, artists like Billie Eilish, Lady Gaga, Halsey, Ellie Goulding, Robin Schulz, Avicii, Pink, Jonas Brothers, Panic at the Disco!, Calvin Harris, David Guetta, Kelly Clarkson, Ariana Grande and Lizzo to name just a few! Whew! And of course… we play the Queen… Madonna.

Jai Rodriquez, Photo Courtesy of Channel Q

Do you find most of your listeners are LGBTQ+?
Our audience includes both LGBTQ+ listeners and, our straight allies – both men and women.

How did you decide your lineup of shows?
We were looking for a lineup of folks who were both talented and experienced in driving good conversation and finding ways each day to keep people both entertained and informed.

Jejune loves that many of your shows look at current events, politics, and news. Why is it so important that these are being discussed through the LGBTQ+ lens?
It’s important that we offer a platform for the community to see ourselves reflected in media in ways not currently being done. Aside from some television and film roles, we are not being represented in a consistent way on the radio. It’s our goal to offer the community a place to turn to on a daily basis to hear topical discussions through both an LGBTQ+ and progressive lens.  

Ally Johnson, Photo: Courtesy of Channel Q

Jarrett Hill, Photo: Courtesy of Channel Q

What is the most racy thing you have covered in “Let’s Go There w/ Shira Lazar & Ryan Mitchell”? Why was it important to discuss?
Shira Lazar & Ryan Mitchell: We go there on so many topics - from our sex lives, personal relationships to the most hot button social issues about the intersectionality of our lives when involving race & gender identity. Our relationship was built on conversations that others would find incredibly uncomfortable, but we want to provide a safe space that allows people to meet in the middle and see things through a different lens. This is how we believe we evolve as a community. We recently had a really heated conversation, as you can imagine, on abortion and all the new laws being passed. We felt that this was a perfect moment to show all sides and give everyone a voice. So, we had someone join from a huge conservatively known organization, The Heritage Foundation, to discuss the topic with us... And let's just say, it got intense.

“Loveline w/ Dr. Chris Donaghue” sounds like a really fun show. Can you tell our readers a bit about it?
Loveline is a call-in program offering love, sex and relationship advice to listeners, often with the assistance of guests including actors and musicians. We also discuss family relationship dynamics and body positivity.  Dr. Chris is not one for holding back; whether it’s an honest opinion or open discussions about sexual topics, Loveline is the place to be, no doubt about it, every Mon-Thurs 7-10p PT / 10p-12a ET!

What do you want your listeners to take away from Channel Q?
That CHANNEL Q is a media destination where members of the LGBTQ+ community and our allies can come to hear themselves being fairly represented and reflected back in a responsible way, a place where our stories are being told in an informative and entertaining way.

Ryan Mitchell, Photo: Courtesy of Channel Q

Please list any websites and social media you would like Jejune to promote.
Listen Live on RADIO.COM  |  www.wearechannelq.radio.com
Or Tune In Coast to Coast: https://wearechannelq.radio.com/how-listen-radio-stations-online-radiocom-faq
Social Media: Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

 

__
Channel Q Shows & Schedule:
The Morning Beat w/ Jai Rodriguez & Mikalah Gordon | On Air: 6:00-10:00am PST / 9:00am-12:00pm EST
Drop the Subject w/ Ally Johnson & Jarrett Hill  | On Air: 12:00-2:00pm PST / 3:00-5:00pm EST
Our House - Music Mix | On Air: 2:00-4:00pm PST / 5:00-7:00pm EST
Let's Go There w/ Shira Lazar & Ryan Mitchell | On Air: 4:00-7:00pm PST / 7:00-10:00pm EST
Loveline w/ Dr. Chris Donaghue | On Air: 7:00-9:00pm PST / 10:00pm-12:00am EST
Our House - Music Mix | On Air: 9:00pm-12:00am PST / 12:00-3:00am EST
(Fridays) Sidebar w/ John Duran | On Air: 10:00am-12:00pm PST/ 1:00-3:00pm EST
(Fridays/Saturdays) In The Mix w/ DJ Alex D | On Air Fridays: 8:00-10:00pm PST / 11:00pm-12:00am EST
              On Air Saturdays: 10:00pm-12:00am PST / 1:00-3:00am EST
(Fridays) In The Mix w/ DJ Lisa Pittman | On Air: 7:00-8:00pm PST / 10:00-11:00pm EST

Shira Lazar, Photo: Courtesy of Channel Q

Stephanie Rice Writes Her Own Story

Stephanie Rice Writes Her Own Story

The Sunscreen Company

The Sunscreen Company